Wetware World

Guide

What MEA plates and consumables actually cost

No multielectrode array vendor publishes plate pricing. This page derives per-plate costs from US federal procurement records with stated quantities, a published European order confirmation, and live storefront prices for adjacent consumables, with the per-well and per-experiment arithmetic.

Updated
2026-09-01
Basis
mixed
Sources
12

The short answer: a 48-well MEA plate cost a US federal buyer $381.00 each in 2021 and $488.80 each in 2024, and a 60-electrode single-well glass MEA cost a European university EUR 328.00 each in October 2024. Those are derived from procurement records with stated quantities, because no MEA vendor publishes a plate price at all.

That absence is the reason this page exists. Instruments get budgeted because someone has to sign a capital request. Plates get consumed, and a laboratory running one 48-well plate a week is spending more on consumables every eighteen months than the instrument cost.

Why there is no price list to quote

We checked. Axion BioSystems publishes a full plate compatibility matrix with catalogue numbers, well counts, electrode counts per well, bottom material and wall colour, and no price. MaxWell Biosystems, Multi Channel Systems, 3Brain and Alpha MED Scientific are the same: complete specifications, no figures. Multi Channel Systems operates a public online shop, but it is restricted to its direct sales territory of Europe, Australia and New Zealand, and requires an account.

This is a deliberate commercial structure, not an oversight. It means a first-time buyer has no way to sanity-check a quote, and no way to model the recurring cost before committing to a platform.

So we went and found transactions instead.

The derived per-plate figures

Every row below comes from a public record where the buyer, the product, the quantity and the amount are all stated. The per-unit column is arithmetic, not a quotation.

ProductBuyerQuantity statedTotal obligationDerived per plateRecordDate
Axion 48-well MEA plates, product no. 1000588US National Institutes of Health10 boxes at 5 plates per box = 50 plates$24,440$488.80Award 75N95024P006482024-09-19
Axion CytoView MEA 48-white, 16 electrodes per well, transparent SU-8 bottomUS National Institutes of HealthCase of 50 plates$19,050$381.00Award 75N95C21P001482021-09-27
Axion CytoView MEA, 16 boxes of 48-well plus 16 boxes of 96-wellUS National Institutes of Health32 boxes, box size not stated in the record$72,000$2,250 per box; $450 per plate if boxes hold 5Award 75N95022P006262022-09-09
Multi Channel Systems 60MEA200/30iR-Ti-gr, single-well 60-electrode TiN glass MEAMasaryk University Faculty of Medicine25 unitsEUR 8,200EUR 328.00 (stated unit price, not derived)Order confirmation 800-021322-12024-10-14
Multi Channel Systems 60-6wellMEA200/30iR-Ti-tcr, 6-well MEAMasaryk University Faculty of Medicine2 unitsEUR 798EUR 399.00 (stated unit price)Order confirmation 800-021322-12024-10-14

Read those carefully before using them.

The two Axion rows are three years apart and differ by 28 percent. $381.00 in September 2021 against $488.80 in September 2024 on a 48-well plate. We are not going to claim that is a clean price-inflation series, the 2024 record names a product number rather than a plate variant, the 2021 record specifies white walls and an SU-8 bottom, and the obligated amounts may include shipping or other unstated items. What the pair does establish, robustly, is that a 48-well MEA plate is a high-three-figure item, not a low-three-figure one, and any budget built on an assumed $150 plate is wrong by a factor of three.

The MCS figures are stated unit prices, which makes them the strongest data on this page. They come from a supplier’s own order confirmation, published because the buyer was a public institution in a jurisdiction with a contracts-transparency register. EUR 328.00 for a single-well 60-electrode glass MEA and EUR 399.00 for a 6-well. The same document notes a minimum order value of EUR 500.00 net, with an additional EUR 25.00 charge on any order below it, which is itself a real cost for a laboratory buying two plates at a time.

Per-well and per-experiment economics

Decide on the loaded number below, not the bare per-plate one. The Axion per-plate figure is derived from a 2024-09-19 federal award, not a list price; see the derivation above for what that does and does not establish.

ConfigurationPer-plate cost usedWellsCost per wellElectrodes per wellCost per electrode
Axion CytoView MEA 48$488.80 (2024 derived)48$10.1816$0.64
Axion CytoView MEA 48$381.00 (2021 derived)48$7.9416$0.50
MCS 60-6wellMEA200/30iR-TiEUR 399.00 (stated)6EUR 66.5012EUR 5.54
MCS 60MEA200/30iR-Ti, single wellEUR 328.00 (stated)1EUR 328.0059 recordingEUR 5.56

Two structural facts fall out of that table.

Cost per well collapses as well count rises; cost per electrode does not. The Axion 48-well and the MCS 6-well differ by a factor of six per well and by a factor of nine per electrode, but in opposite directions once you account for what each well contains. High-density and glass single-well arrays are not expensive versions of multiwell plates. They are a different purchase serving a different question, and comparing them on cost per well is meaningless.

Then divide by replicates. A 48-well plate is not 48 experiments. At four wells per condition with a vehicle control and a positive control, a 48-well plate is a ten-condition experiment, which puts the real consumable cost at roughly $49 per condition on the 2024 figure. That is the number to compare against alternatives, and it is the number nobody calculates before choosing a platform.

The recurring cost nobody budgets

Here is the arithmetic that makes MEA plates a strategic rather than a clerical decision.

MODELLED, this is arithmetic on the derived plate prices above, not a quotation.

Usage patternPlates per yearPer-plate costAnnual plate spendThree-year plate spend
Occasional: one plate a month12$488.80$5,865.60$17,596.80
Steady: one plate a week52$488.80$25,417.60$76,252.80
Screening: three plates a week156$488.80$76,252.80$228,758.40

Set that against the instrument. Published federal awards for Axion MEA systems include $184,050 for a Maestro Pro 768-channel system (award 36C24121P0737, 2021-07-12), $267,900 for a Maestro multi-well system (75F40123P00078, 2023-03-28) and $285,745 for a multielectrode array system (75F40125P00211, 2025). Those obligations may include accessories, modules and warranty, so treat them as the envelope of a system purchase rather than a list price for an instrument alone.

On those numbers, a laboratory running one plate a week spends more on plates than on the instrument somewhere between year seven and year eleven. A screening group running three plates a week gets there in under three years. The instrument is the visible decision; the plates are the larger one.

Software and subscriptions are a separate line

Two federal awards to MaxWell Biosystems make explicit something that is easy to miss when comparing platforms:

ItemBuyerAmountRecordDate
MaxWell MaxTwo plate consumables subscriptionUS Environmental Protection Agency$19,600Award 68HE0B25P02112025-01-28
MaxLab Live stimulation assay softwareUS Environmental Protection Agency$12,450Award 68HERD25P00062024-10-17

A consumables subscription is a different commercial model from buying plates by the box, and a stimulation assay sold as a separate software licence is a capability you might reasonably have assumed came with the instrument. Neither appears on any specification page.

Ask three questions of every platform vendor before comparing quotes: is the analysis software perpetual or subscription; which assay modules are included against separately licensed; and is there a consumables subscription option, at what annual commitment. The answers differ sharply between vendors and none of them is public.

Adjacent consumables that do publish prices

For contrast, here is what the same category looks like where vendors do post figures. All are live list prices captured 2026-09-01.

SupplierItemPackList pricePer unitSource
eNUVIOOMEGA-MP 3D skeletal muscle culture device4 devices / 8 experiments$440.00$55.00 per experimentStore API, live
eNUVIOOMEGA-4, OMEGA-ACE, OMEGA-4-2mini neuronal co-culture devices4 devices / 8 experiments$285.00$35.63 per experimentStore API, live
eNUVIOOMEGA-ACE-4mm and OMEGA-AG axon guidance devicePer pack$425.00,Store API, live
eNUVIOEvaporation Minimizer4-pack$60.00$15.00Store API, live
eNUVIOLive Cell Microscopy Adapter for OMEGA devices1$105.00,Store API, live
eNUVIOMicroscopy Adapter for OMEGA devices1$80.00,Store API, live
InSpheroAkura 96 spheroid microplate5-pack$355.00$71.00 per plateShopify, live
InSpheroAkura 96 spheroid microplate20-pack$1,195.00$59.75 per plateShopify, live
InSpheroAkura 384 spheroid microplate5-pack$688.00$137.60 per plateShopify, live
InSpheroAkura 384 spheroid microplate10-pack$1,125.00$112.50 per plateShopify, live
InSpheroAkura tilting stand1$59.00,Shopify, live
MatTekPermaCell culture inserts, PTFE 0.4 µm24$141.00$5.88 per insertStore API, live
MatTekPermaCell culture inserts, PET 0.4 µm24$131.00$5.46 per insertStore API, live
MatTekPermaCell hang-top 24-well platesPer pack$55.00,Store API, live

The comparison is stark and worth sitting with. A specialised PDMS neuronal co-culture device is $35.63 per experiment with a published price you can read in ten seconds. An MEA plate is roughly $49 per condition and you cannot find out what it costs without a sales conversation. The technical justification for the difference, patterned electrodes, PEDOT deposition, precision alignment, is real. The transparency difference is a commercial choice.

Note also that InSphero’s pack pricing gives a genuine volume discount, $71.00 down to $59.75 per plate, a 16 percent reduction on the 20-pack. Whether MEA vendors offer an equivalent curve is exactly the thing you cannot see at a single quantity, which is why you should request quotes at three annual volumes rather than one.

Plate reuse: the largest single variable

This changes consumable cost by more than any negotiation will.

PlatformReuse positionConsequence
Axion CytoViewDesigned for one-time cell platingEvery experiment consumes a plate. The annual arithmetic above applies in full
Multi Channel Systems single-well glass MEAsRoutinely cleaned and reused with a defined protocolA EUR 328.00 array amortised across many experiments
Alpha MED Scientific MED ProbesSelf-contained glass recording chamber, routinely reusedSame

A reusable glass array at EUR 328.00 used twenty times is EUR 16.40 an experiment. A single-use 48-well plate at $488.80 across ten conditions is roughly $49 a condition every time you run it. Over a three-year programme that difference is larger than the instrument price gap between the platforms, and it almost never appears in a platform comparison because the plate prices that would let you calculate it are not published.

The counter-argument is real: cleaning protocols take technician time, carry a contamination risk, and progressively degrade electrode impedance. Reuse is not free, it is a different cost. But it is a cost you control, and single-use is a cost you do not.

The alternative nobody prices: buy the recording

If the readout is what you need rather than the capability, one institutional core publishes a rate card for exactly that.

ServiceInternal (BCH)External academicExternal industrySourceRecorded
MEA recording, per recording$49.00$64.00$84.00Boston Children’s Hospital IDDRC Human Neuron Unit2026-09-01
High content imaging, image capture, per plate$162.00$211.00$276.00Same2026-09-01
Project planning fee, per new project$290.00$377.00$493.00Same2026-09-01

$64.00 per recording as an external academic, against a consumable cost of roughly $49 per condition before you have paid for an instrument, a technician, coating, media or a maturation period. If your programme needs twenty recordings a year rather than two hundred, the arithmetic for buying the service rather than the platform is not close, and the project planning fee of $377 is the entire fixed cost of finding out.

This is the option most often skipped, because building capability feels like progress and buying a service feels like an admission. On these numbers, below roughly one plate a month, the service is straightforwardly cheaper.

What we could not price, and why it matters

Every one of these is a real recurring cost of running MEA experiments that we could not attach to a verified figure from a named source, and every one of them makes the numbers above an underestimate:

  • Coating reagents. Poly-D-lysine, PEI, poly-ornithine, laminin. Mandatory on every plate, every time. Not priced here.
  • Media and supplements across a four-to-seven-week maturation, with half changes every two to four days. On a long-maturation neuronal protocol this is frequently larger than the plate.
  • Cells. Covered on the neuron and glia pages. Glia are effectively mandatory for network activity and are a second vial per experiment.
  • Instrument service contracts. One federal award records $223,000 for a service agreement covering Axion instruments (75N95023P00818, 2023), but the number of instruments and the term are not stated, so we will not derive an annual rate from it.
  • Incubator and CO₂ occupancy for the maturation window.
  • Technician time for feeding, which on a seven-week maturation across a plate a week is a standing commitment rather than a project task.

What to ask before you commit to a platform

  • Plate price at three annual volumes, not one. The discount curve is the information.
  • Whether the plate is single-use or has a validated reuse protocol, and if the latter, how many cycles before the vendor stops standing behind electrode impedance.
  • Whether analysis software is perpetual or subscription, and which assay modules are separately licensed.
  • Whether a consumables subscription exists, its annual commitment and what happens if you under-consume.
  • Minimum order value. The MCS confirmation shows EUR 500.00 net with a EUR 25.00 charge below it. Small routine orders can carry a surcharge.
  • Lead time on plates, and whether they are made to order. A stock-out on a consumable stops a maturation schedule you cannot restart.
  • Service contract cost as an annual figure, quoted separately from the instrument.

How we can help

We hold these derived figures because we went and found them, and we will keep updating them as new records publish. If you tell us the platform, the well format and the number of plates you expect to consume in a year, we will put the same specification to the vendors and to their distributors, ask for the volume curve rather than a single-quantity price, and tell you where the recurring cost lands against the alternatives, including when the honest answer is that a core facility recording service at $64 a recording beats owning anything.

Send us a specification.

Sources

Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.

  1. USAspending.gov, award 75N95024P00648, National Institutes of Health to Axion BioSystems, 2024-09-19: "Axion Biosystems 48-well microelectrode array plates. Product no. 1000588. Quantity: 10 boxes (5 plates / box)", $24,440 https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75N95024P00648
  2. USAspending.gov, award 75N95C21P00148, National Institutes of Health to Axion BioSystems, 2021-09-27: "CytoView MEA 48-white plate, 16 microelectrodes per well, white polystyrene walls with a transparent SU-8 bottom, case of 50 plates", $19,050 https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75N95C21P00148
  3. USAspending.gov, award 75N95022P00626, National Institutes of Health to Axion BioSystems, 2022-09-09: "Purchase of sixteen (16) boxes of 48-well and (16) boxes of 96-well Axion CytoView microelectrode array plates", $72,000 https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75N95022P00626
  4. USAspending.gov, awards 68HE0B25P0211 (MaxWell MaxTwo plate consumables subscription, $19,600, 2025-01-28) and 68HERD25P0006 (MaxLab Live stimulation assay software, $12,450, 2024-10-17), US Environmental Protection Agency https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_68HE0B25P0211
  5. USAspending.gov, award 36C24121P0737, US Department of Veterans Affairs to Axion BioSystems, obligated $184,050.00, 2021-07-12 (Maestro Pro 768-channel MEA system). Instrument figures taken from award obligations are upper bounds, not list prices. https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_36C24121P0737
  6. USAspending.gov, award 75F40123P00078, US Food and Drug Administration to Axion BioSystems, obligated $267,900.00, 2023-03-28 (Maestro multi-well MEA system) https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75F40123P00078
  7. USAspending.gov, award 75F40125P00211, US Food and Drug Administration to Axion BioSystems, obligated $285,745.00, 2025 (multielectrode array system) https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75F40125P00211
  8. Multi Channel Systems MCS GmbH, order confirmation 800-021322-1, dated 2024-10-14, to Masaryk University Faculty of Medicine, published in the Czech public contracts register: 60MEA200/30iR-Ti-gr at EUR 328.00 each (qty 25) and 60-6wellMEA200/30iR-Ti-tcr at EUR 399.00 each (qty 2) https://smlouvy.gov.cz/smlouva/soubor/37357952/Order_confirmation.pdf
  9. eNUVIO, public store product and price data (WooCommerce Store API), queried live 2026-09-01 https://enuvio.com/shop/3d-skeletal-muscle-device-omega-mp
  10. InSphero, public shop product and price data (Shopify products endpoint), queried live 2026-09-01 https://shop.insphero.com/collections/all
  11. Boston Children's Hospital IDDRC Human Neuron Unit, published phenotyping service fee schedule, MEA recording per recording by customer class https://iddrc.org/overview/translational/human-neuron-unit
  12. Axion BioSystems, CytoView MEA plate range and electrode counts per well https://www.axionbiosystems.com/products/consumables/cytoview-mea-plate

rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation