Guide
What an organ-on-chip programme actually costs
Instrument, consumable and per-well economics for organ-on-chip platforms, Emulate, MIMETAS, CN Bio, AIM Biotech and InSphero, built from live storefront prices where they exist and from federal procurement records with stated quantities where they do not.
The short answer: an organ-on-chip programme has three cost centres, and the published information covers exactly one of them. Consumable plates run from $11.10 per chip on a high-throughput plate you can buy from a storefront today to $18.17 per chip on a plate whose price we had to derive from federal procurement records. Instruments run into six figures, and no vendor publishes a number.
The most useful finding on this page is that two US federal awards for an identically described Emulate configuration, thirteen months apart, differ by 48 percent, which means even the procurement record cannot give you a reliable instrument price for that platform.
The three cost centres
Every organ-on-chip quote decomposes the same way, and buyers routinely negotiate the smallest one.
- The instrument. Perfusion and control hardware. A one-time capital item, six figures, quote-only everywhere.
- The consumable. Chips or plates. Recurring, per experiment, and the number that determines whether the platform is affordable to run rather than to own.
- Everything the consumable needs. Cells, matrix, medium, coating, imaging, analysis. Usually the largest of the three and almost never in the comparison.
A platform that is cheap on the first and expensive on the second is a bad purchase for a high-throughput group and a good one for a group running four experiments a year. Nobody can tell which they are without the second number, which is why we went looking for it.
Consumables that publish a price
These are live list prices captured 2026-09-01 from public storefronts. This is the transparent end of the category.
| Supplier | Product | Catalogue | Pack | List price | Per plate | Per chip | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AIM Biotech | idenTx 40 Plate | IDTX40 | Box of 5 plates, 40 chips per plate | $2,220.00 | $444.00 | $11.10 | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | idenTx 9 Plate | IDTX9 | Box of 8 plates, 9 chips per plate | $690.00 | $86.25 | $9.58 | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | idenTx 3 Chip, microscope-slide format | DAX-1 | Box of 25 chips, 3 experiments per chip | $570.00 | , | $22.80 per chip; $7.60 per experiment | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | organiX Plate | OGNXP-1EA | Box of 1 | $410.00 | $410.00 | , | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | organiX Plate | OGNXP-3EA | Box of 3 | $1,110.00 | $370.00 | , | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | organiX Insert | OGNXI | Box of 24 | $420.00 | , | $17.50 per insert | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | idenTx Holder | HOL-2 | 1 | $190.00 | , | , | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | Luer connectors with inlet seals | LUC-1 | 36-pack with 20-sheet seals | $142.00 | , | , | Store API, live |
| AIM Biotech | Cooling block for idenTx and organiX plates | CBLK | 1 | $260.00 | , | , | Store API, live |
| InSphero | Akura 96 spheroid microplate | , | 5-pack | $355.00 | $71.00 | $0.74 per well | Shopify, live |
| InSphero | Akura 96 spheroid microplate | , | 20-pack | $1,195.00 | $59.75 | $0.62 per well | Shopify, live |
| InSphero | Akura 384 spheroid microplate | , | 5-pack | $688.00 | $137.60 | $0.36 per well | Shopify, live |
| InSphero | Gri3D hydrogel microcavity plate, plastic | , | 1 plate, all four cavity sizes | $660.00 | $660.00 | , | Shopify, live |
| InSphero | Gri3D hydrogel microcavity plate, imaging | , | 1 plate | $730.00 | $730.00 | , | Shopify, live |
Assay-ready versions cost three to four times the empty plate
AIM prices the same plate empty and pre-seeded, which is a rare and useful disclosure:
| Product | Catalogue | Contents | Price | Uplift over the empty plate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| idenTx 40 Plate, empty | IDTX40 | 5 plates | $444.00 per plate | , |
| AngioPrime, assay-ready | AGPR-1EA | 1 idenTx 40 plate pre-loaded with hTERT-immortalised HUVECs on a 3D collagen interface | $1,470.00 | +$1,026.00, or 231% |
| AngioPrime, assay-ready | AGPR-2EA | 2 plates | $2,688.00 ($1,344.00 each) | +$900.00 per plate |
| VasQ Kit for 1 idenTx 40 plate | VQKT40-1EA | Kit | $790.00 | , |
| VasQ Kit for 3 idenTx 40 plates | VQKT40-3EA | Kit | $2,080.00 ($693.33 each) | 12% pack discount |
| VasQ Kit for 1 organiX plate | VQKTOG-1EA | Kit | $1,000.00 | , |
| BBB Boost, 100X | BBBST | 1 vial | $190.00 | , |
| organiX plate box of 1 with 2 vials of BBB Boost | BBBST-OP1 | Bundle | $600.00 | Bundle saves $190 against $410 + 2 × $190 |
Paying $1,026 to avoid thawing, seeding and handling matrix on a 40-chip plate is $25.65 per chip. Whether that is good value depends entirely on your technician’s time and your seeding failure rate, which is precisely the arithmetic the failed batch page sets out.
The distributor markup, measured
MatTek distributes AIM Biotech’s range and publishes its own prices, which lets us measure the distributor spread exactly. Both captured 2026-09-01.
| Product | AIM Biotech direct | MatTek distributed | Difference | Markup |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| idenTx 3 Chip, 25 per box (DAX-1) | $570.00 | $615.60 | +$45.60 | 8.0% |
| idenTx 9 Plate (IDTX9) | $690.00 | $746.70 | +$56.70 | 8.2% |
| idenTx 40 Plate (IDTX40) | $2,220.00 | $2,416.80 | +$196.80 | 8.9% |
| organiX Plate (OGNXP) | $410.00 | $444.60 | +$34.60 | 8.4% |
| organiX Insert (OGNXI) | $420.00 | $456.00 | +$36.00 | 8.6% |
| idenTx Holder (HOL-2) | $190.00 | $205.20 | +$15.20 | 8.0% |
| Luer Connectors (LUC-1) | $142.00 | $153.90 | +$11.90 | 8.4% |
| Cooling Block (CBLK) | $260.00 | $279.30 | +$19.30 | 7.4% |
A consistent 7.4 to 8.9 percent spread across eight SKUs. That is a clean, disciplined distributor margin rather than opportunistic pricing, and it tells you something practical: if your institution’s purchasing system routes everything through a major distributor, that convenience costs about eight percent on this range. On a $2,220 plate box, eight percent is $197. On an annual consumable spend of $40,000, it is $3,200.
Neither price is wrong. But you should know which one you are paying, and buyers frequently do not.
Consumables that do not publish a price, derived
MIMETAS publishes no pricing. Two US federal awards, seven months apart, name the same part number and state the quantity, and produce identical derived unit prices, which is about as strong as derived data gets.
| Product | Buyer | Quantity | Obligation | Derived per plate | Award | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MIMETAS OrganoPlate Graft, part 6401-400-B | US National Institutes of Health | 25 plates | $29,075 | $1,163.00 | 75N95021P00070 | 2021-01-07 |
| MIMETAS OrganoPlate Graft, part 6401-400-B | US National Institutes of Health | 20 plates | $23,260 | $1,163.00 | 75N95020P00433 | 2020-08-26 |
| MIMETAS OrganoPlate Graft, same part | US National Institutes of Health | Not stated | $29,125 | Consistent with 25 plates | 75N95021P00280 | 2021-06-14 |
| MIMETAS OrganoPlate Graft 3-lane 64-chip, same part | US National Institutes of Health | Not stated | $30,096 | Consistent with ~26 plates | 75N95022P00442 | 2022-08-11 |
$1,163.00 per plate, replicated exactly across two independent awards at different quantities. The OrganoPlate Graft 3-lane format carries 64 chips per plate, which puts the consumable at $18.17 per chip.
Two caveats stated plainly. These are 2020 and 2021 transactions and prices move. And the obligated amount may bundle shipping, but if it does, it bundles it identically at two different order sizes, which argues the $1,163.00 is a clean unit price rather than a blended one.
Set against the storefront data, the picture is coherent: $11.10 per chip on an AIM idenTx 40, $18.17 per chip on a MIMETAS OrganoPlate Graft. Those are the same order of magnitude for genuinely different products, the Graft format supports perfused tubular tissue and vascular grafting, the idenTx supports a 3D gel region flanked by media channels. You are not buying the same experiment. But you now have both numbers, which you could not before.
Instruments: where the derivation breaks down
We tried to derive instrument prices the same way and the data will not support it. Here is the attempt, shown in full because the failure is the finding.
| Stated configuration | Buyer | Obligation | Award | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Two Zoe Culture Module 2 and two Orb Hub Module | US Food and Drug Administration | $218,100 | 75F40122P00202 | 2022-06-28 |
| Two Zoe Culture Module 2 and two Orb Hub Module | US Food and Drug Administration | $146,915 | 75F40123P00171 | 2023-06-09 |
| One Zoe Module (ZOE-CM2) with one Orb Hub (ORB-HM1) | US Food and Drug Administration | $149,130 | 75F40123P00478 | 2023-09-28 |
| Human Emulation System (configuration not itemised) | US Food and Drug Administration | $200,300 | 75F40123P00085 | 2023-03-29 |
| Liver Human Emulation System | US Food and Drug Administration | $354,235 | 75F40122P00034 | 2022-01-18 |
Two awards describing the same configuration, two Zoe CM2 modules and two Orb hubs, differ by $71,185, or 48 percent. A third award for half that configuration is obligated at $149,130, which is more than the cheaper award for twice the hardware.
We are not going to publish a per-module Emulate price from that. The records plainly bundle different amounts of service, warranty, training, chips or reagents under similar descriptions, and picking whichever figure suits an argument would be exactly the kind of thing this site exists not to do.
What the range does establish is the envelope: a working Emulate Human Emulation System installation is a $147,000 to $354,000 federal procurement event, not a $50,000 one.
Two Emulate records are clean enough to derive from, because they state a unit count against a single homogeneous item:
| Item | Quantity stated | Obligation | Derived per unit | Award | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoe culture module upgrade, CM1 to CM2 | 4 each | $144,800 | $36,200.00 per module upgrade | 75N93023P01043 | 2023-08-07 |
| Liver Human Emulation System 24-pack quad liver chip kits | 5 each | $104,500 | $20,900.00 per 24-pack, or $870.83 per kit unit | 75F40123P00207 | 2023-06-27 |
That second row is the most useful Emulate consumable figure we could find anywhere: a quad liver chip kit at roughly $871 per unit within a 24-pack.
CN Bio’s records are more legible, because the descriptions are less ambiguous:
| Item | Buyer | Obligation | Award | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PhysioMimix OOC multi-organ standard and full system | US Department of Defense | $460,511 | HT942525P0071 | 2025-07-10 |
| PhysioMimix OOC multi-organ standard system | US Department of Defense | $212,610 | HT942524P0124 | 2024-08-22 |
| PhysioMimix organ-chip equipment system plus four option years of preventative maintenance | US Food and Drug Administration | $89,934 | 75F40120P00532 | 2020-09-03 |
The 2020 award is instructive in a different way: it bundles the instrument with four twelve-month option years of preventative maintenance at a total of $89,934. Whatever the split, it establishes that maintenance is contracted in multi-year blocks at purchase, and should be in your comparison from the start rather than arriving as a surprise in year two.
For completeness, 3Brain’s BioCAM Duplex platform was obligated at $162,469 (award 75N95023P00787, 2023-09-19), which sits an organ-chip-adjacent imaging and electrophysiology platform in the same six-figure band.
Service contracts: the recurring cost after the recurring cost
| Item | Coverage stated | Obligation | Award | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emulate Human Emulation System service agreement | 1 Orb and 4 Zoe modules | $76,260 | 75N93022P00393 | 2022-03-11 |
| Emulate lab service programme | 4 Zoe CM2 culture modules | $73,050 | 75N93024P01159 | 2024-09-17 |
Two service agreements two years apart, both covering four Zoe modules, at $76,260 and $73,050. Consistent to within four percent, which, unlike the instrument records, suggests these are comparable, well-specified items. The term is not stated in either record, so we will not annualise them.
On a four-module installation, service is a five-figure recurring commitment. If your capital case covers the instrument and your operating budget covers plates, the service contract is the line that falls between the two and gets discovered late.
The finished-tissue alternative, priced
The other route to organ-scale biology skips the instrument entirely and buys tissue that arrives already made. This end of the market does publish prices.
| Supplier | Product | Format | List price | Per microtissue | Source | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| InSphero | 3D InSight Human Liver Microtissues (TOX, AF or INF medium configuration) | 1 Akura 96 plate, 96 microtissues, plus 250 mL medium | $4,280.00 | $44.58 | Shopify, live | 2026-09-01 |
| InSphero | 3D InSight Beagle Dog Liver Microtissues | 2 Akura 96 plates plus 250 mL dog-specific medium | $9,140.00 | $47.60 | Shopify, live | 2026-09-01 |
| InSphero | 3D InSight C57BL/6 Mouse Liver Microtissues | 2 Akura 96 plates plus 250 mL mouse-specific medium | $9,680.00 | $50.42 | Shopify, live | 2026-09-01 |
| InSphero | Akura 3D SureKit | Kit to generate your own spheroids from primary hepatocytes | $3,810.00 | , | Shopify, live | 2026-09-01 |
| InSphero | Incubox | Instrument | $1,840.00 | , | Shopify, live | 2026-09-01 |
$44.58 per living human liver microtissue, cells included, medium included, no instrument, no seeding, no matrix handling. That is the number every organ-chip business case should be compared against, and it is the only fully-loaded per-unit figure in this entire article, everything else excludes cells.
The comparison is not like-for-like and we are not pretending it is. Spheroids are not perfused; they cannot do shear stress, barrier function under flow, or fluidically coupled multi-organ work. But if your endpoint is hepatic metabolism or toxicity over up to four weeks, a $4,280 plate that arrives ready to dose competes with a six-figure instrument plus $18.17-per-chip consumables plus cells plus a seeding protocol, and it competes well.
Per-experiment arithmetic
MODELLED, this is arithmetic on the prices above, not a quotation. Cells, matrix, additional medium, coating, imaging and labour are excluded from every row.
| Route | Consumable per unit | Units per plate | Consumable per plate | Instrument required | What the number excludes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AIM idenTx 40 | $11.10 per chip | 40 | $444.00 | No instrument; holder $190 and cooling block $260 one-time | Cells, matrix, medium |
| AIM idenTx 40, assay-ready (AngioPrime) | $36.75 per chip | 40 | $1,470.00 | Same | Matrix and cells included for the endothelial component |
| AIM idenTx 3 | $7.60 per experiment | 3 per chip | $22.80 per chip | Same | Cells, matrix, medium |
| MIMETAS OrganoPlate Graft | $18.17 per chip (derived, 2021) | 64 | $1,163.00 (derived) | OrganoFlow rocker; not priced publicly | Cells, matrix, medium |
| Emulate quad liver chip kit | ~$870.83 per kit unit (derived, 2023) | Per kit | $20,900 per 24-pack | Zoe and Orb; six-figure | Cells, medium; kit contents not itemised in the record |
| InSphero 3D InSight human liver | $44.58 per microtissue | 96 | $4,280.00 | None | Nothing, cells and 250 mL medium included |
| InSphero Akura 96 empty plate | $0.62–$0.74 per well | 96 | $59.75–$71.00 | None | Everything |
The spread from $0.62 to $44.58 per well is the difference between buying an empty vessel and buying a finished living tissue, and the honest way to compare them is to add the cells to the empty-vessel rows, at which point a $59.75 Akura plate seeded with a $1,081 vial of astrocytes or a $643 vial of neurons is dominated by the cells, not the plastic.
The general rule this data supports: for anything except very high throughput, the consumable is not your cost problem. The instrument and the cells are.
What to establish before comparing quotes
- Chips or wells per plate, and whether the vendor’s “per plate” price is per plate or per box. Three of the SKUs above are boxes.
- The volume curve, requested at three annual quantities. InSphero’s own 5-pack to 20-pack step is 16 percent; AIM’s organiX 1-to-3 step is 10 percent. Vendors that publish nothing may have steeper curves and you will not find out at a single quantity.
- Whether you are buying direct or through a distributor, worth 7.4 to 8.9 percent on the one range where we could measure it.
- Instrument, module, software licence and service contract as four separate lines. The CN Bio record bundling four maintenance option years shows why.
- Whether an assay-ready version exists, and what the uplift is. On AIM’s range it is 231 percent on an empty plate, which is either excellent value or terrible depending on your labour cost and your seeding reliability.
- Whether the finished-tissue route answers your question, before committing capital. At $44.58 a microtissue with cells and medium included, it frequently does.
How we can help
Most of the numbers on this page did not exist in one place before we assembled them, and half of them had to be reconstructed from public procurement records because the vendors will not publish. We will keep doing that, and we will run the same specification across platforms so the instrument, consumable, service and per-well lines come back on a common basis.
Tell us the tissue, the readout, the number of conditions per year and whether perfusion is actually required for your endpoint. Where the answer is that a ready-made spheroid plate does the job for a fraction of a platform investment, we will tell you that before we quote you anything.
Sources
Every figure above traces to one of these. Accessed on or before 2026-09-01.
- AIM Biotech, public store product and price data (WooCommerce Store API), queried live 2026-09-01: idenTx 3, idenTx 9, idenTx 40, organiX, AngioPrime, VasQ and accessories https://aimbiotech.com/identx-products
- MatTek (Sartorius), public store product and price data (WooCommerce Store API), queried live 2026-09-01: distributed AIM Biotech idenTx and organiX SKUs https://www.mattek.com/store/identx3/
- InSphero, public shop product and price data (Shopify products endpoint), queried live 2026-09-01 https://shop.insphero.com/collections/all
- USAspending.gov, awards 75N95021P00070 (OrganoPlate Graft, qty 25, part 6401-400-B, $29,075, 2021-01-07) and 75N95020P00433 (OrganoPlate Graft, qty 20, same part, $23,260, 2020-08-26), National Institutes of Health to MIMETAS https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75N95021P00070
- USAspending.gov, award 75N93023P01043, National Institutes of Health to Emulate Inc: "Zoe culture module updates, 4 each, CM1 to CM2", $144,800, 2023-08-07 https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75N93023P01043
- USAspending.gov, award 75F40123P00207, US Food and Drug Administration to Emulate Inc: "Procurement of five (5) each Liver Human Emulation System 24 pk quad liver chip kits", $104,500, 2023-06-27 https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75F40123P00207
- USAspending.gov, awards HT942525P0071 ($460,511, 2025-07-10) and HT942524P0124 ($212,610, 2024-08-22) to CN Bio Innovations for PhysioMimix OOC multi-organ systems; 75F40120P00532 ($89,934, 2020-09-03) including four option years of preventative maintenance https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_HT942525P0071
- USAspending.gov, award 75N95023P00787, National Institutes of Health to 3Brain AG, obligated $162,468.70, 2023-09-19 (BioCAM Duplex platform). Derived per-unit figures from this award are upper bounds, not list prices. https://www.usaspending.gov/award/CONT_AWD_75N95023P00787
- MIMETAS, OrganoPlate 3-lane 40 platform specification: 40 tissue culture chips, three channels per chip, apical and basolateral access https://mimetas.com/en/organoplate-3-lane-40
- InSphero, 3D InSight Human Liver Microtissues, Akura 96 plate format with 96 microtissues and 250 mL medium https://insphero.com/
rev 2026-09-01 · research use only · list prices are supplier-published and change without notice · not a quotation